REPORT FROM THE HONORARY SECRETARY

Branches:

Besides the usual work undertaken by the National Executive between Biennial Conferences, the main activity of the Council during 1972 and 1973 has been the establishment and development of Branches in several regions.

The Branches formed so far are:-

Branch	Date of Formation
Victoria	25th October, 1971
South Australia	28th January, 1 972
New South Wales	5th February, 1972
Northern Territory	23rd November, 1972
Western Australia	19th February, 1973

I was able to represent the National Executive at the formation of three of the above five Branches and it was evident that there is a good deal of enthusiasm for the Council within the States and Territories and that here is an opportunity for the spirit of the Council to reach the workers in the field e g police officers, correctional officers, probation and parole officers, volunteers, social workers etc.

It is to be hoped that Branches will soon be formed in Queensland, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory and Papua-New Guinea. Preliminary meetings have already been held in each of these regions.

Sub-Committees:

The work of the sub-committees goes on. Those sub-committees which are currently preparing reports are:-

The Chaplains Commission
The Bail Committee
The Legal Aid Committee
The Interstate Offences Committee
The Prison Visiting Working Party

1973 National Conference:

The Seventh Biennial National Conference is at the final planning stage With four overseas speakers attending the Conference, each of whom has an international reputation, the Conference promises to be an outstanding occasion. It is to be held between 11th and 18th August, 1973 in Melbourne. Preliminary programmes and information brochures are available from the following.

Victoria

Mr G. T Cuddihy, G P.O. Box 5384 BB, Melbourne Victoria, 3001

New South Wales Mrs. H. M. North, 16 Grosvenor Street,

Sydney. N.S.W. 2000

Queensland Mr. C. R. Bevan, 40-42 George Street,

Brisbane. Queensland. 4000

South Australia Judge A.B.C. Wilson, 300 King William

Street, Adelaide, S.A. 5000

Tasmania Mr. J. G. Mackay, 86 Murray Street,

Hobart. Tasmania. 7000

Western Australia Mr. C. W. Campbell, 606 Murray Street,

West Perth. W.A. 6005

Northern Territory Mr. D. McCann S.M., P.O. Box 1281,

Darwin. N.T. 5794

Australian Capital Mr. J. Haslem, 12 Sabine Close,

Garran. A.C.T. 2605

Papua-New Guinea Mr. J. Purcell, P.O. Box 2041,

Konedobu. Pt. Moresby. Papua New Guinea.

Alternatively, enquiries should be directed to the Conference Convenor,

Mr. G. T. Cuddihy, G.P.O. Box 5384 BB, Melbourne. Victoria. 3000

Conference Resolutions:

Territory

Members of the Council (whether organisational, voluntary organisational, associate, student or life) are encouraged to submit policy resolutions for discussion of the Seventh National Conference. Such resolutions should be relevant to the Council and within the objects and functions of the Council Such Resolutions should reach me by 11th July. My address is:-

Judge A. B. C. Wilson, 300 King William Street, Adelaide. S.A 5000

Confidentiality Report:

The attention of members is drawn to the enclosed memorandum on the subject of "Confidentiality". Replies should be forwarded to me to reach me by no later than 1st June, 1973.

National Institute of Criminology:

The Council can expect the closest co-oporation from the National Institute of Criminology. On behalf of the National Executive I sent a letter to Judge J. H. Muirhead extending to him congratulations upon his appointment as Acting Director The attention of members is drawn to the Acting Director's reply.

20-12-72

"Dear Mr Wilson,

Many the ks for your letter of 15th December written on
behalf of the National Executive I have no doubt that we will

substantially rely on the assistance of the Council and its members from time to time, and I am confident that the closest co-operation will be maintained.

Please pass on my thanks to the Executive.

With best wishes,

Jim Muirhead, Acting Director.

Changes on National Executive:

The Honorable Mr. Justice J. H. McClemens was elected President of the Council to succeed the Honorable E. M. Bingham who found it necessary to resign

The Rev. D. Brook has replaced the Rev. C. Bailey on the National Executive. Mr Bailey is at present overseas.

Mr. D. Biles is standing in as a proxy for Miss M. Daunton-Fear during her sabbatical leave overseas.

The Hon. Dr. John Guise C.B.E., M.H.A., Deputy Chief Minister and Minister for the Interior in Papua-New Guinea has been co-opted onto the National Executive

Mr. C. R. Bevan is the State Representative for Queensland in place of Superintendent J. Hamilton who was transferred to Melbourne. Supt. Hamilton is still a co-opted member of the National Executive.

Mr. Peter Gorton, Deputy Director of Social Welfare, Western Australia, has replaced Mr. K. Maine as the co-opted member representing "Child Welfare".

Mr. D. A. McCann S.M. is the representative of the Northern Territory.

Judge A. B. C. Wilson, Honorary Secretary.

* * * * * *