

WOMEN'S SUFFRAGE CENTENARY SOUTH AUSTRALIA 1894–1994

Votes for Women

This year South Australia has been celebrating the changes to the South Australian Constitution that gave women the vote and the right to stand for election to Parliament. South Australia has particular claims as the first State to enable women to stand for Parliament. It took 65 years to get the first women elected to the Parliament of South Australia (Jessie Cooper and Joyce Steele in 1959) and only 22 women have taken up the challenge in 100 years.

Many activities are being held over the year to celebrate this achievement. These include an International Conference on 'Women, Power and Politics' in October. There is an exciting range of speakers from around the world including Glenda Jackson, MP, Dr Marilyn Waring, Professor Catharine Stimpson and Margareta Winberg. Details can be obtained from the Conference Secretariat tel (08) 363 1307.

On the 100th anniversary of the women's suffrage petition being presented to the Parliament, the event will be recreated by young women from six metropolitan state and independent girls' schools. Following a procession through the city streets to

the Parliament, the modern day petition containing the signatures of 16 to 18 year-old young women from South Australia and Northern Territory, will be presented to the Minister of the Status of Women and other women MPs. Contact the Women's Suffrage Centenary Secretariat for more information on tel (08) 207 2200.

In the legal area, a series of five free one-hour twilight lectures on 'Women's Lives and the Law' was held in March sponsored Finlaysons. Between 200 and 300 people attended each session. Speakers were Lindy Powell on 'Individual rights based on justice rather than gender': Robyn Layton, OC on 'Women at home and on the streets'; Vickie Chapman 'You've come a long way babe - but the journey is not over yet'; Natascha McNamara AM, MBE on 'White man's law - its impact on South Australian women'; Professor Rebecca Bailey-Harris 'Achieving real equality for women: the challenges of the 21st century'. The papers are now available from Heather Dowling, Finlaysons, GPO Box 1244, Adelaide 5001 for \$50.00 a set of five lectures: tel (08) 235 7865 for details.

Planning is now underway for the Legal Services Commission of South Australia's 1994 conference, 19-21 August to be held at Höchstens at Hahndorf. It will feature special sessions to celebrate the Women's Suffrage Centenary when South Australian women gained the right to vote and stand for Parliament in South Australia. Her Excellency, the Honourable Dame Roma Mitchell, AC, DBE, the first woman judge in South Australia and the first woman Governor of South Australia will deliver the opening address. Topical issues such as Gender Bias and its Effect on the Outcome of Trials, the Credibility of Witnesses and the Provision of Witness Statements and other Evidence by Prosecutions - How Should it be Approached? will be very interesting to criminal lawyers and general legal practitioners. For details see the program available from George Hatzirodos on tel (08) 205 0108.

LIZ AHERN

Liz Ahern works at the Legal Services Commission, South Australia

Thanks to the Women's Suffrage Centenary Secretariat for information from their newsletters and the use of their logo.

alternative journal

Volume 19, Number 4 August 1994 ISSN 1037-969X

Editor for this issue:

Brian Simpson and Eveline Tindale

Editorial Co-ordinator:

Elizabeth Boulton

Subscriptions Manager:

Julie Malikovic

Business Manager:

Ross Hyams

State Convenors:

ACT: Stephen Argument (06) 295 0783 **NSW:** Peter Wilmshurst (02) 805 7685 **NT:** Graham Jefferson (089) 814 799

QLD: Geoffrey Airo-Farulla (07) 875 5159

SA: Brian Simpson (08) 201 3674 Tas: Paula Baron (002) 20 2073 Vic: Andrew Palmer (03) 344 7296

Editorial Committee:

Jenny Bargen, Sandra Berns, Gill
Boehringer, Helen Brown,
Nicholas Brunton, Linda Daley,
Ian Freckelton, Heather Gallagher,
Helen Gwilliam, Alexis Hailstones,
Claire Harris, John Lynch, Sandy
McCullough, Kirsty Magarey,
Mary Anne Noone, Darren Palmer,
Sophie Panagiotidis, Rebecca Peters,
Jane Ponting, Simon Rice, Brian Simpson,
Michelle Schwarz, Lynne Spender,
Dieneke Walker, Graeme Wiffen.

Typesetting:

Julie Malikovic

Layout:

Kasia Graphics

Graphics:

Stuart Roth, John Lynch Judy Horacek, Anthony Reilly

Printing:

Thajo Printing,

4 Yeovil Court, Mulgrave, 3170.

The Alternative Law Journal is published by the Legal Service Bulletin Co-operative Ltd.

Copyright © 1994 Legal Service Bulletin Co-operative Ltd.

Subscriptions:

Full-time students and unemployed \$33, Individuals \$48, Libraries/Institutions \$63 (six issues).

The editorial committees welcome letters (up to 500 words) and unsolicited manuscripts (up to 4000 words). Please send two copies, double-spaced and if possible a disk. Author guidelines are available on request.

All Correspondence to:

Editorial Co-ordinator, Alternative Law Journal, C/- Law Faculty, Monash University, Clayton, Vic. 3168.

Tel. (03) 905 3362 Fax: (03) 905 5305

This issue may be cited as (1994) 19(4) Alt LJ 151

Claim period for undelivered or damaged copies is 6 months.