Acknowledgments

The essays in this collection were originally presented at a conference hosted by the Centre for Public, International and Comparative Law in the T C Beirne School of Law at the University of Queensland in July 2015. We would like to thank all the presenters for their contributions, including those whose papers do not appear in this volume. The conference was well attended by academics and legal practitioners, as well as a number of sitting and former judges. Their questions and comments greatly enriched the conference, as well as contributing to the quality and relevance of the essays in the collection. We are grateful to the Magna Carta Committee of the Rule of Law Institute of Australia for their generous sponsorship of the event.

We would like to thank the events team in the T C Beirne School of Law – Nadine Davidson-Wall, Jane Gay, Therese Yat and Claire Ritchie – for their invaluable help in organising the conference. We are also indebted to the student volunteers who helped ensure that the sessions ran smoothly. The production of this volume was aided significantly by the excellent research assistance and proof editing of Amelia Bell. We also acknowledge the additional editing work undertaken by Kate Gover and Kai Luck. We thank The Federation Press for supporting the project from the outset. Finally, we thank our families for their invaluable support and encouragement.

Rebecca Ananian-Welsh Ionathan Crowe

vii

About the Contributors

James Allan is the Garrick Professor of Law at the University of Queensland.

Rebecca Ananian-Welsh is a Lecturer in Law at the University of Queensland.

Gabrielle Appleby is an Associate Professor of Law and a Co-Director of the Judiciary Project in the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law at the University of New South Wales.

Francesca Bartlett is a Senior Lecturer in Law at the University of Queensland.

Alysia Blackham is a Senior Lecturer in Law at the University of Melbourne and an Affiliated Lecturer in Law at the University of Cambridge.

Jonathan Crowe is Professor of Law at Bond University.

The Hon Justice Martin Daubney is a current Judge of the Supreme Court of Queensland.

Rosalind Dixon is Professor of Law and Director of the Comparative Constitutional Law Project in the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law at the University of New South Wales.

Heather Douglas is Professor of Law at the University of Queensland.

Constance Youngwon Lee is a PhD Candidate in the T C Beirne School of Law at the University of Queensland.

HP Lee is Emeritus Professor of Law at Monash University, having held the Sir John Latham Chair of Law from 1995 until his retirement in 2014.

Katherine Lindsay is a Senior Lecturer in Law at the University of Newcastle.

Andrew Lynch is Professor of Law and a Co-Director of the Judiciary Project in the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law at the University of New South Wales.

The Hon Sir Anthony Mason is a former Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia and non-permanent Judge of the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal.

Brian Opeskin is Professor of Legal Governance at Macquarie University.

Suri Ratnapala is Emeritus Professor of Public Law at the University of Queensland.

David Tomkins is a Lecturer in Law at the University of Newcastle.

viii

Press.indb 8 2/06/2016 10:52:05 AM

ABOUT THE CONTRIBUTORS

Melissa Vogt is a Research Assistant in the Faculty of Law at the University of New South Wales.

George Williams is Dean of Law, the Anthony Mason Professor, a Scientia Professor and the Foundation Director of the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law at the University of New South Wales.

John M Williams is Pro Vice-Chancellor Research Operations and Dean of Graduate Studies at the University of Adelaide.