Acknowledgments

This volume has emerged from a conference on The Principle of Legality in Australia and New Zealand held at the State Library of Victoria in February 2015. The Conference was possible through the generous financial support of the Deakin Law School and the strong encouragement of then Head of School Professor Mirko Bagaric.

Thank you to all those who attended the Conference and made it such an interesting and enjoyable day. And to those persons, in addition to the chapter authors, who made important and valuable contributions to the program on the day. They were Dr Nina Boughey, Justice Elizabeth Hollingworth, Justice Stephen Gageler, Professor Samantha Hepburn, Justice Tony Pagone and Peter Quiggin PSM.

One final and special thanks is due to Sarah Miocic. Without Sarah's patience, administrative expertise and cheerful attention to detail the Conference would have remained another interesting yet unrealised academic idea!

Dan Meagher Matthew Groves

About the Contributors

John Basten is currently serving on the Court of Appeal of New South Wales. Before his current appointment, he was a Queen's Counsel with a mainly appellate practice, much of which involved administrative and constitutional law. He has also been a part-time Commissioner of the New South Wales Law Reform Commission and an Acting Commissioner of the New South Wales Independent Commission Against Corruption.

Olaf Ciolek is a member of the Victorian Bar. He holds a Master of Law from the University of Cambridge and Bachelor's degrees with Honours in Science and Law from the University of Melbourne.

Jeremy Gans is a Professor at Melbourne Law School, teaching and researching on all aspects of criminal justice. He also advises the Victorian Parliament's Scrutiny of Acts and Regulations Committee on human rights, and is also presently writing a book on ouija boards.

Kris Gledhill practised for two decades at the bar in London, including in public law matters, before becoming an academic lawyer in New Zealand. He is an Associate Professor at the AUT Law School in Auckland. His relevant publications include *Human Rights Acts: the Mechanisms Compared* (Hart Publishing, Oxford, 2015).

Jeffrey Goldsworthy is an Emeritus Professor in the Faculty of Law, Monash University. He is best known for his books *The Sovereignty of Parliament: History and Philosophy* (OUP, 1999) and *Parliamentary Sovereignty: Contemporary Debates* (CUP, 2010), his edited collection *Interpreting Constitutions: A Comparative Study* (OUP, 2006), and many publications on the theory of statutory and constitutional interpretation.

Kirsty Gover is an Associate Professor at Melbourne Law School. Her research addresses the law and political theory of Indigenous rights and tribal jurisdiction. Dr Gover is the author of *Tribal Constitutionalism: States, Tribes and the Governance of Membership* (OUP, 2011) and is working on a book entitled *When Tribalism Meets Liberalism: Political Theory and International Law* (OUP).

Matthew Groves is a Professor of Public Law in the La Trobe Law School, La Trobe University. He teaches and researches in public law. Matthew is a fellow of the Australian Academy of Law, editor of the *Australian Journal of Administrative Law* and co-author of the leading public law work Aronson, Groves and Weeks, *Judicial Review of Administrative Action and Government Liability* (6th ed, Thomson Reuters, 2017).

Philip Joseph is a Professor of Law at the University of Canterbury and is the author of the leading New Zealand public law text *Constitutional and Administrative Law in New Zealand* (4th ed, Thomson Reuters, 2014).

ABOUT THE CONTRIBUTORS

Wendy Lacey is Professor and Dean of Law at the University of South Australia. She holds Honours degrees in Arts and Law and a PhD in Law from the University of Tasmania. Her areas of expertise include constitutional law, human rights and judicial discretion.

Brendan Lim is a barrister at the New South Wales Bar. He graduated from the University of Adelaide, where he received the university medal in law. Brendan also completed postgraduate studies at Yale and will shortly publish his thesis from those studies, *Australia's Constitution After Whitlam*, with Cambridge University Press.

Stephen McLeish is a Judge of Appeal of the Supreme Court of Victoria. He was the Solicitor-General for Victoria from 2011 until 2015, having been a member of the Victorian Bar since 1993. He practised primarily in the areas of commercial and public law and was appointed as Senior Counsel in 2007. He holds an LLM from Harvard University and Bachelor's degrees in Arts and with Honours in Law from Melbourne University.

Dan Meagher is an Associate Professor at the La Trobe Law School, La Trobe University. He is a graduate of Monash University and the University of New South Wales, teaches and researches in the areas of constitutional law and statutory interpretation and is the comments editor for the *Public Law Review*.

Hanna Wilberg is an Associate Professor in the Faculty of Law at the University of Auckland, and a graduate of the Universities of Otago and Oxford. She writes primarily on administrative law and the tort liability of public authorities.