

# Past presidents' annual dinner

## NATIONAL COUNCIL

National President Greg Barns President-Elect Anthony Kerin

### DIRECTORS

ACT Bill Andrews NSW Andrew Stone
NT Nicole Dunn QLD Justin Harper
SA Anthony Kerin TAS John Green
VIC Geraldine Collins WA Tom Percy QC

### **BRANCH PRESIDENTS**

ACT Angus Bucknell NSW Jnana Gumbert NT Nicole Dunn QLD Adam Tayler SA Anthony Kerin TAS John Green VIC Emily Anderson WA Tom Percy QC

### STAFF

### Conference Manager

Holly Lawrence holly@lawyersalliance.com.au Public Affairs Manager

Mandy Wyer mandy@lawyersalliance.com.au Member Services Officer

Nancy Hanna nancy@lawyersalliance.com.au

Publications Officer
Renée Harris renee@lawyersalliance.com.au

Legal & Policy Officer

Emily Price emily@lawyersalliance.com.au Event Co-ordinator

Mariela Zaharija mariela@lawyersalliance.com.au

# **PRECEDENT Editorial Committee**

Greg Barns, Mark Blumer, Tracey Carver, Toni Emanuele, Michal Horvath, Julie Hughes, Paul Ohm, Richard Royle, Tim Tobin SC, Ngaire Watson, Ben Zipser Editor and Production Manager Renée Harris renee@lawyersalliance.com.au

This edition Production Assistants
June McGowan, Luke Reeves

Design Tianli Zu tian@artstudiozz.com.au

This issue of Precedent is cited as (2011) 106 PRECEDENT. ISSN 1449-7719 © 2011 Australian Lawyers Alliance, ABN 96 086 880 499

Trading as the Australian Lawyers Alliance, GPO Box 7052, Sydney 2001, DX 10126, Sydney Stock Exchange Phone: (02) 9258 7700 Fax: (02) 9258 7777 Email: enquiries@lawyersalliance.com.au Website: http://www.lawyersalliance.com.au

PRECEDENT is published bi-monthly by the Australian Lawyers Alliance Ltd. Contributors and advertisers should submit their copy and/or artwork in electronic form by the agreed deadline. Disclaimer: Views expressed by the contributors are not necessarily endorsed by the Australian Lawyers Alliance Ltd. No responsibility is accepted by the company, the editor or the contributors for the accuracy of the information contained in the text and advertisements. The Alliance does not necessarily endorse any of the products or services advertised. Copyright in this material is retained by the publisher, the Australian Lawyers Alliance Ltd. No part of this material may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, without permission in writing from the publisher, the Australian Lawyers Alliance Ltd. Enquiries should be directed to enquiries@lawyersalliance.com.au.

By Tom Goudkamp



ince 2005, the immediate past president of the ALA has hosted a past presidents' dinner in his or her home city.

This tradition follows that of our US sister organisation, the AAJ (formerly ATLA), where the event is the highlight of each annual conference. So far, our dinners have been held in Sydney (Tom Goudkamp), Canberra (Richard Faulks and Mark Blumer), Brisbane (Simon Morrison and Ian Brown), and Melbourne (Clara Davies).

On 16 September, it was Brian Hilliard's turn in Hobart, and what a great night it was for those past presidents who attended.

After pre-dinner drinks at 'Grape' at Salamanca, we repaired to Monty's restaurant where, in a private room with a roaring open fire, we embellished stories of our heroic struggles against the tide of tort law reform and lamented what has befallen many of the hapless negligently injured people in this country.

We also had a roll call of our absent past presidents, Peter Semmler QC, who started it all; Peter Cashman; the two-term Rob Davis; John Gordon; Simon Morrison; and the reclusive Ian Brown. We gave each a thunderous toast and a stiff roasting.

We look forward to next year's event, again in Hobart, the home city of our current president, Greg Barns.

**Precedent** is now being produced in a more ecologically sustainable manner. For details, see http://www.lawyersalliance.com.au/precedent.php

**ADVICE FOR CONTRIBUTORS TO** *PRECEDENT*: While contributing authors retain copyright of their material, the Australian Lawyers Alliance (ALA) reserves 'first rights' to publication of commissioned works. After initial publication by the ALA, authors may publish articles elsewhere, provided the ALA is appropriately acknowledged as first publisher. Any compensation or fees that fall due (ie, royalty payments) in relation to articles' initial publication in *Precedent* accrue to the ALA. The ALA can arrange for articles to be peer reviewed on request from contributors at the time of commissioning.