NOTICES

INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION OF JURISTS

TASMANIAN BRANCH

The International Commission of Jurists is an organisation of lawyers of the free world with headquarters in Geneva. Its purpose is to protect and foster the Rule of Law throughout the world.

The Commission was established during the course of the Berlin Congress of 1952. Its present membership is drawn from some twentyfive countries. The President is Mr. Justice Joseph T. Thomson, President of the Exchequer Court of Canada. Among the members are Sir Owen Dixon, Chief Justice of Australia; Mr. D. B. Bonsal, Immediate Past-President of the New York Bar Association; Professor G. Bettiol of the University of Padua; Lord Shawcross, former Attorney-General of England; and Kotaro Tanaka of Tokyo. The Commission is a nongovernmental organisation enjoying consultative status (Category 'B') with the United Nations Economic and Social Council.

Supporters of the Commission have for some years past been forming national groups to co-operate with and render active assistance to the Commission in the realization of its goals. A Newsletter, Bulletin and a Journal are published twice a year. The Journal is published in English, French, German and Spanish.

The objects of the Australian Section are-

- 1. To provide an organisation through which the Australian Legal Profession can protect and sustain the Rule of Law.
- 2. To co-operate with similar organisations in other countries through the channels provided by the International Commission of Jurists in Geneva.
- 3. To attack, by all available means, unjustifiable invasion of the immunities necessary to human dignity in Australia and its Territories.
- 4. To give such aid to the International Commission of Jurists as may be requested from time to time for developing awareness of the Rule of Law and the application of the principles for which it stands, and to help, advise and encourage all who seek to secure, by means of the Rule of Law, the fundamental privileges and immunities of the individual.

5. To sponsor lectures by leading international figures on those incidents and situations which have been the subject of action or investigation by the Commission.

Office-bearers of the Tasmanian Branch, which was formed on August 28, 1961:

Patron: Sir Stanley Burbury, K.B.E., Chief Justice of Tasmania

State Vice-President: Sir Henry Baker, K.C.M.G.

Committee: The Hon. Mr. Justice Crawford Professor N. C. H. Dunbar Professor W. A. Townsley Senator R. C. Wright Bruce Piggott, Esq.

Joint Secretaries: H. V. O. Bushby, Esq. R. H. Cogswell, Esq.

Membership is not confined to lawyers, provision being made for associate and student members.

Membership Fees:

Full Members (lawyers)	 £1	1	0
Associate Members	 £1	1	0
Student Members		10	6

Applications for membership in Tasmania can be made to:

Mr. R. H. Cogswell, Box 354 D, G.P.O., Hobart, or Mr. H. V. O. Bushby, Box 584, Post Office, Launceston.

The publications of the Commission are distributed to members free of charge.

AUSTRALIAN UNIVERSITIES LAW SCHOOLS ASSOCIATION

The Annual meeting of the Association was held at the University of Queensland, Brisbane, from August 14-17, 1961, under the presidency of Dr. E. I. Sykes. There were visitors from Singapore, India and New Zealand.

Several papers, devoted to problems of jurisprudence, legal history, matrimonial causes, tort liability, uniform company legislation, control of monopolies, and State death duties, were presented for discussion.

The office-bearers elected for the ensuing year are the President, Professor N. C. H. Dunbar (University of Tasmania); Vice-President, Professor Norval Morris (University of Adelaide); Executive Member, Mr. A. Turner (University of Melbourne); and Secretary-Treasurer, Mr. P. F. P. Higgins (University of Tasmania).

The next conference will be held in Hobart in the August vacation of 1962.

632

Notices

THE LAW SCHOOL LIBRARY

The Law School Library is anxious to acquire the following publications. Particulars of items for disposal should be sent to the Dean of the Law School.

- 1. Complete set of West Australian Statutes and Law Reports.
- 2. Commonwealth Arbitration Reports, volumes 1-74.
- 3. South Australian Law Reports, 1866-1920.
- 4. Complete set of N.S.W. Weekly Notes.
- 5. Argus Law Reports, 1902-1947 inclusive.

BOOKS RECEIVED

P. R. H. Webb and D. J. L. Brown, A Casebook on the Conflict of Laws, 1960, Butterworths.

Nathan's Equity through the Cases, 4th ed. by O. R. Marshall, Stevens.

.