Commonwealth Consolidated Acts

[Index] [Table] [Search] [Search this Act] [Notes] [Noteup] [Previous] [Next] [Download] [Help]


Meaning of Australia


  (1)   Australia , when used in a geographical sense, includes each of the following:

  (a)   Norfolk Island;

  (b)   the Coral Sea Islands Territory;

  (c)   the Territory of Ashmore and Cartier Islands;

  (d)   the Territory of Christmas Island;

  (e)   the Territory of Cocos (Keeling) Islands;

  (f)   the Territory of Heard Island and the McDonald Islands.

Note:   Section   15B of the Acts Interpretation Act 1901 provides that an Act is taken to have effect in the coastal sea of Australia as if the coastal sea were part of Australia.

Offshore areas

  (2)   Australia , when used in a geographical sense, includes an offshore area for the purposes of the Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006 .

Note 1:   The offshore area includes all things located in that area, including all installations and structures such as oil and gas rigs. The area also extends to the airspace over, and the sea - bed and subsoil beneath, that area.

Note 2:   The offshore area includes the exclusive economic zone and the continental shelf of Australia.

AustLII: Copyright Policy | Disclaimers | Privacy Policy | Feedback