New South Wales Consolidated Acts

[Index] [Table] [Search] [Search this Act] [Notes] [Noteup] [Previous] [Next] [Download] [History] [Help]


Major racing bodies

6B Major racing bodies

(1) For the purposes of this Act, the
"major racing bodies" are the following bodies--
(a) the merged racing club (within the meaning of the Australian Jockey and Sydney Turf Clubs Merger Act 2010 ),
(c) Provincial Association of New South Wales,
(d) Country Racing Council Limited,
(e) New South Wales Harness Racing Club Limited,
(f) NSW Greyhound Breeders, Owners [#38] Trainers Association Limited,
(g) New South Wales National Coursing Association Limited.
(2) If a major racing body ceases to exist, its functions under this Act are conferred on its successor and its successor becomes a major racing body in its place (including for the purposes of the operation of this section).
(3) The successor of a major racing body is the body nominated by the Minister by order published in the Gazette.
(4) The Minister cannot nominate a body as successor of a major racing body except with the approval of a majority of the racing clubs whose interests the major racing body represented or, where the major racing body did not represent the interests of any racing club, with the approval of a majority of the persons who were members of the major racing body immediately before it ceased to exist.
(5) If a successor of a major racing body cannot be nominated, there is no successor of that body for the purposes of this section.

AustLII: Copyright Policy | Disclaimers | Privacy Policy | Feedback