### No. 14 of 1966

# An Ordinance to amend the *Public Service Ordinance* 1928–1964

[Reserved 8th April, 1965.] [Assented to 5th May, 1966.]\*

BE it ordained by the Legislative Council for the Northern Territory of Australia, in pursuance of the powers conferred by the Northern Territory (Administration) Act 1910-1962, as follows:—

## Short title and citation.

- 1.—(1.) This Ordinance may be cited as the *Public Service Ordinance* 1965.
- (2.) The *Public Service Ordinance* 1928-1964 is in this Ordinance referred to as the Principal Ordinance.
- (3.) The Principal Ordinance, as amended by this Ordinance, may be cited as the *Public Service Ordinance* 1928-1965.

#### Commencement.

Departments and Branches.

2. This Ordinance shall come into operation on a date to be fixed by the Administrator in Council. †

# 3. Section eight of the Principal Ordinance is amended by omitting sub-section (2.) and inserting the following sub-section in its stead:—

- "(2.) The Department of the Administrator shall consist of the following branches:—
  - (a) the Education Branch;
  - (b) the Police Branch;
  - (c) the Prisons Branch; and
  - (d) the Fire Services Branch.".

#### Appeal Board.

- **4.** Section twenty-four of the Principal Ordinance is amended by omitting paragraph (c) of sub-section (1.) and inserting in its stead the following paragraph:—
  - "(c) in the case of—
    - (i) an appeal by an officer of the Police Branch, an officer of the Police Branch elected as a representative by the members of that Branch;

Notified in Northern Territory Government Gazette dated 11 May, 1966.
† The date fix d was 1 November 1966 (see Northern Territory Government Gazette No. 52 of 19 October 1966, pag 209).

- (ii) an appeal by an officer of the Prisons Branch, an officer of the Prisons Branch elected by the members of that Branch;
- (iii) an appeal by an officer of the Fire Services Branch, an officer of the Fire Services Branch elected by the members of that Branch; or
- (iv) an appeal by an officer of the Department of the Legislative Council, an officer of the Department of the Legislative Council elected by the members of that Department.".