City of Melbourne (Re-subdivision) Bill 1979

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

By an Order in Council published in the *Government Gazette* of the 7th March the municipal district of the City of Melbourne was re-subdivided into eight wards instead of the existing eleven wards. The Order in Council became effective on the 19th May and provided for all councillors to go out of office at the annual election of councillors in August, this being the only course possible under the *Local Government Act* 1958.

It was, however, considered desirable to avoid the possibility of any sudden and drastic change in the membership of the Council and accordingly it was decided that all councillors representing the old wards should complete their terms of office. Further, that to assist in phasing out the old Council, only one councillor should be elected for each of the eight new wards at the annual elections to be held in 1979, 1980 and 1981.

Under this scheme three of the councillors who represented the old wards will retire in each of the years 1979, 1980 and 1981 and one councillor will be elected for each of the new wards. After the 1981 annual election there will be 24 councillors representing the new wards. Any extraordinary vacancy occurring in the office of a councillor representing an old ward will not be filled.

This Bill will alter the provisions of the re-subdivision Order in Council accordingly.

By Authority: F. D. ATKINSON, Government Printer, Melbourne 1-[8]-800/13.6.1979-2408/79

(a) Additional of the strategy process was served as the barrier of the strategy of the str