Constitution (Proportional Representation) Bill

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

Outline

The purpose of this Bill is to provide for elections to the Legislative Council to be on the basis of proportional representation and to reduce by 12 the number of members of Parliament

The Bill makes provision for the following:

- (a) an electoral system for the Legislative Council of multi-member electorates, proportional representation and quota preferential voting;
- (b) simultaneous election of both Houses of the Parliament;
- (c) filling of casual vacancies consistent with the intention of the electorate;
- (d) a reduction in the number of members of the Legislative Assembly from 88 to 85 members;
- (e) a reduction in the number of members of the Legislative Council from 44 to 35 members:
- (f) other matters of a procedural or consequential nature.

Notes on Clauses

Clause 1 purpose.

Clause 2 commencement. The commencement of operation of the provisions of the Act will be staggered to permit smooth implementation of the amendments.

Clause 3 defines the Principal Act in Part 2 of the Bill as the Constitution Act 1975.

Clause 4 provides for the Legislative Council to be elected for a term of four years concurrently and simultaneously with the Legislative Assembly.

Clause 5 reduces the number of members of the Legislative Council from 44 to 35 members and provides that the Legislative Council shall comprise 5 provinces each returning 7 members.

Clause 6 provides the procedure for the filling of casual vacancies for the Legislative Council so that:

if the vacating member was elected as a member of a registered political party, that registered political party shall nominate a replacement to fill the vacancy;

if the vacating member was not elected as a member of a registered political party, a recount shall be conducted to fill the vacancy; and

• where a vacancy otherwise occurs, an election shall be held to fill the vacancy.

Clause 7 makes provision for the duration of the Legislative Council.

Clause 8 reduces the number of members of the Legislative Assembly from 88 to 85 members.

Clause 9 defines the Principal Act in Part 3 of the Bill as The Constitution Act Amendment Act 1958.

Clause 10 makes consequential amendments to the Act in relation to the simultaneous election of the Assembly and the Council.

Clause 11 makes consequential amendments to the Act in relation to the issue of writs and general elections.

Clause 12 and Clause 13 amend the Act to provide for procedures for the nomination of candidates and for the names of candidates to be grouped in the ballot-papers.

Clause 14 makes consequential amendments to the Act in relation to ballot-papers.

Clause 15 amends the Act to enable the determination of the order of candidates on ballot-papers to take account of the grouping of candidates.

Clause 16 makes provision for voters to have the option of group voting or voting for individual candidates.

Clause 17 enables ballot-papers to be printed with the names of candidates grouped along with the name of the political party which endorsed the group.

Clause 18 provides for posters showing group voting tickets to be displayed at each polling booth.

Clause 19 makes a consequential amendment in relation to Council elections being held concurrently and simultaneously with the Assembly.

Clause 20 provides for the method by which voters are to mark their votes in a Council election.

Clause 21 amends the Act to insert a new Division 13A relating to voting for the Council. The new Division is based on the Commonwealth Senate system and provides for Council elections to be on the basis of proportional representation with the method of voting quota preferential.

Clause 22 effects minor amendments of a consequential nature.

Clause 23 substitutes a new Tenth Schedule in the Act providing for the form of ballot-papers for Council elections.

Clause 24 amends the Electoral Boundaries Commission Act 1982 to provide that of the five provinces comprising the Council two will have a rural focus whilst three will have an urban focus. Each province will consist of 17 Assembly districts.

Clause 25 makes minor amendments of a consequential nature to the Parliamentary Committees Act 1968.

Clause 26 makes minor amendments of a consequential nature to the Parliamentary Salaries and Superannuation Act 1968.