

Parliament of South Australia

INTERIM REPORT

OF THE

SELECT COMMITTEE

ON

ALLEGEDLY UNLAWFUL PRACTICES RAISED IN THE AUDITOR-GENERAL'S REPORT, 2003-2004

Laid on the Table of the Legislative Council and ordered to be printed on 1 December 2009

Third Session, Fifty-First Parliament 2008-2009

[P.P. 287

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA

SELECT COMMITTEE ON ALLEGEDLY UNLAWFUL PRACTICES RAISED IN THE AUDITOR-GENERAL'S REPORT, 2003-2004

INTERIM REPORT

On 10 November 2004, a Select Committee of the Legislative Council was appointed to investigate and report upon issues relating to allegedly unlawful practices raised by the Auditor-General in his Annual Report, 2003-2004, and, in particular:

- (a) all issues related to the operation of the Crown Solicitor's Trust Account and the \$5 million "interagency loan" between the Department for Administrative and Information Services and the Department for Water, Land and Biodiversity Conservation;
- (b) whether the practices were in fact unlawful;
- (c) the extent to which these practices have been used in other Departments;
- (d) issues of natural justice surrounding the treatment of Ms Kate Lennon;
- (e) why agencies were unable to meet statutory reporting deadlines;
- (f) suggestions as to how the management of unspent funds should be approached in the future; and
- (g) all other related matters.

That Committee began hearing evidence soon after its appointment and held 15 meetings from its appointment to the calling of the State Election held in March 2006, having heard evidence from 15 witnesses. The Committee sought and received a significant volume of documents from relevant portfolio areas relating to the operation of the Crown Solicitor's Trust Account. The Committee was unable to complete the tasks assigned to it and did not table an interim or final report.

On 7 June 2006 the Legislative Council of the 51st Parliament resolved to re-establish the Select Committee with the same terms of reference. The evidence presented to the former Committee was tabled in the Legislative Council and referred to the new Committee.

The membership of this Committee is as follows:

The Hon B V Finnigan, MLC (Chairperson) The Hon J A Darley, MLC (Appointed 21 November 2007) The Hon R I Lucas, MLC The Hon D W Ridgway, MLC The Hon R P Wortley, MLC The Hon N Xenophon, MLC (Resigned 15 October 2007) The Committee continued to hear evidence and receive submissions during the 51st Parliament, with five additional submissions being received and four witnesses giving evidence.

Persons presenting evidence to the Committees to date are contained in Appendix A.

Appendix B contains the names of individuals making written submissions.

In view of the volume and value of the evidence presented to the Select Committee and the pending closure of the 51st Parliament, the Committee has resolved to Table this interim Report together with the further evidence received since its appointment. The Committee's decision is due, in part, to it being unlikely to finalise deliberations and table a Final Report before the next State Election to be held on Saturday, 20 March 2010.

Importantly, the Committee also notes that legal action concerning matters pertinent to its terms of reference is proceeding and believes it is prudent at this point to not table a final report while that action has not concluded.

Notwithstanding, the Committee resolved it was in the public interest to table evidence received and this Interim Report.

The Hon B V Finnigan, MLC Chairperson 26 November 2009

Appendix A

SELECT COMMITTEE ON ALLEDGEDLY UNLAWFUL PRACTICES RAISED IN THE AUDITOR-GENERAL'S ANNUAL REPORT, 2003-2004

SCHEDULE OF WITNESSES

50th Parliament

Administrative and Information Services, Department of
Mr Leith Brokensha, Manager, Financial Services, Support Services
Mr Barry Miller Executive Director, State Procurement and Business Development
Attorney-General's Department
Ms Debra Contala, Acting Director, Strategic and Financial Services Unit, Justice Portfolio Services Division
Mr Andrew Swanson, Acting Manager, Business and Financial Services
Mr Jerome Maguire, Director, Strategic Business and Contract Management
Mr Rex Mathews, Fund Manager, Justice Portfolio Division
the fixed indices, i and manager, sushed i ordono Division
Auditor-General
Mr Ken MacPherson, together with
Mr Simon Marsh, Director of Audits, Auditor-General's Department
Emery Roger, Commission Secretary, Motor Accident Commission
Lennon, Ms Kate
McCarthy, Mr Martin
Former Finance Manager, Crown Solicitor's Office, Attorney-General's Department
Pennifold, Mr Kym, Executive Consultant, Office of the Commissioner for Public Employment
Trade and Fear anis Development Department of
Trade and Economic Development, Department of Ms Angela Allison, Director, Corporate Services
Mr Paul Noon, Chief Finance Officer,
wi Fau Nooii, Chief Finance Officer,
Treasury and Finance, Department of
Mr Ray Bown, Principal Policy Officer, Policy Analysis
wi kuy bowi, i meipur toney officer, i oney murysis
Walter, Mr Mike, former Crown Solicitor
51 st Parliament
Auditor-General
Mr Ken MacPherson, together with
Mr Simon Marsh, Director of Audits, Auditor-General's Department
A data shubi, Dictor of Hadis, Hadis Contra 5 Department

Mr Salvatore Bianco, Director of Audits, Field Operations, Auditor-General's Department

Mr Mark Johns, State Coroner (former CEO, Auditor-General's Department)

Appendix B

SELECT COMMITTEE ON ALLEDGEDLY UNLAWFUL PRACTICES RAISED IN THE AUDITOR-GENERAL'S ANNUAL REPORT, 2003-2004

SCHEDULE OF PERSONS MAKING SUBMISSIONS

50th Parliament

Administrative Services, Minister for, The Hon Michael Wright MP Allison, Ms Angela, Director Corporate Services, Department of Trade and Economic Development Attorney-General, The Hon Michael Atkinson MP Auditor-General, Mr K I MacPherson Bown, Mr Ray, Principal policy Officer, Department of Treasury and Finance Cossey, Bill Contala, Ms Debra, Acting Director, Strategic and Financial Services, Attorney-General's Department Environment and Conservation, Minister for, The Hon John Hill, MP Families and Communities, Minister for, The Hon Jay Weatherill, MP Hankin, Mr John, Partner, Thomson Playford Health, Minister for, The Hon Lea Stevens, MP Johns, Mr Mark, Chief Executive Attorney-General's Department & Department of Justice Lennon, Ms Kate McCarthy, Mr Martin, Former Finance Manager, Business & Financial Services Unit, Attorney-General's Dept Maguire, Mr Jerome, Acting Chief Executive, Attorney-General's Department and Department of Justice Matthews, Mr Rex, Fund Manager, Attorney-General's Department Noon, Mr Paul, Chief Finance Officer, Department of Trade and Economic Development Pennifold, Mr Kym Police, Minister for the Hon Kevin Foley, MP South Australia Police Malcolm Hyde, Commissioner of Police John White, Acting Commissioner of Police Swanson, Mr Andrew, A/Manager, Business and Financial Services, Attorney-General's Department Walter, Mike

51st Parliament

Auditor-General, Mr K I MacPherson Johns, Mr Mark, State Coroner Minister for Police, The Hon P Holloway, MLC South Australia Police, Malcolm Hyde, Commissioner of Police