[P.P. 319]



Parliament of South Australia

INTERIM REPORT

OF THE

SELECT COMMITTEE

ON THE

ST CLAIR LAND SWAP

Laid on the Table of the Legislative Council and ordered to be printed on 26 November 2013

Second Session, Fifty Second Parliament 2012-2013

INTERIM REPORT OF THE SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE ST CLAIR LAND SWAP

1. INTRODUCTION

1.1 Appointment of the Select Committee

On Wednesday, 24 July 2013 a Select Committee of the Legislative Council was established to inquire into and report on all aspects of the St. Clair land swap.

The Select Committee was established as a result of a range of concerns raised by the Hon Michelle Lensink, MLC in the Legislative Council on Wednesday, 19 June 2013. These concerns relate to the process undertaken by the Charles Sturt Council in the process of swapping a part of the open space at the St Clair Reserve for land at the old Actil site and using the land at the St Clair Reserve for housing. Following debate, terms of reference were agreed and the Legislative Council passed the motion.

1.2 Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference of the Select Committee are to inquire into and report on all aspects of the St. Clair land swap including but not limited to -

- (a) All previous and current decisions of the Charles Sturt Council on this matter, including the vote to request the State Government to dedicate this land as a Memorial Park;
- (b) The findings of the Ombudsman's Report on the St. Clair Land Swap Investigation, including matters of conflict of interest;
- (c) The significant amount of land lost to roads in the land swap, and reduction of open space;
- (d) The advice provided and sought by Council on the area of open space available to the community before and after the land swap;
- (e) The communications between Council, prospective developers and the State Government; and
- (f) Any other relevant matter.

1.3 Membership

The membership of the Select Committee is:

Hon J. M. A. Lensink Hon. K. J. Maher Hon. M. C. Parnell Hon. D. W. Ridgway Hon. R. P. Wortley

2. PROCESS

The Select Committee has met on 6 occasions since it was established in July 2013. It has received 10 submissions, heard public evidence from 15 witnesses and in camera evidence.

Select Committee members noted and appreciated the effort made by all parties to date, both written and verbal, in order to present their views.

Organisations and persons presenting public submissions to the Committee to date are contained in *Appendix A*, while *Appendix B* contains details of the witnesses giving public evidence to the Committee.

3. INTERIM REPORT

At this stage, there remains additional evidence to be presented to the Select Committee.

It is therefore premature for the Select Committee to make any observations or conclusions.

This Interim Report has been presented to enable the release of evidence received to date. This is considered particularly important to ensure that policy makers are aware of all available information provided to the Select Committee.

The Select Committee's final report will be provided once all evidence has been heard and deliberations concluded.

The Hon J M A Lensink Chairperson 25 November 2013

APPENDIX A: SCHEDULE OF WRITTEN SUBMISSIONS

Written submissions have been received from the following persons and organisations:

Mr Paul Shiels Mr Trevor White and Ms Carol Faulkner, Cheltenham Park Residents Association Ms Nancy Fahey City of Charles Sturt' Ms Natalie Stanco Ms Rina Russo Mayor Kirsten Alexander: Cr Tolley Wasylenko Mr Kevin Hamilton Mrs Maureen Hamilton

APPENDIX B: SCHEDULE OF WITNESSES

Public evidence has been received from the following persons and organisations:

Mr Mark Withers, Chief Executive Officer, City of Charles Sturt Mr Fred Hansen, Chief Executive Renewal SA Mr Stephen Smith, Senior Strategic Planner, Renewal SA Mayor Kirsten Alexander, City Of Charles Sturt Cr Robert Randall, City of Charles Sturt Cr Tolley Wasylenko, City of Charles Sturt Mr Kevin Hamilton Mrs Maureen Hamilton Mr Peter Stanford Ms Kelly Thomas, St Clair Residents Association Ms Leni Brown, St Clair Residents Association Ms Carol Faulkner, Cheltenham Park Residents Association Incorporated Mr Trevor White, Cheltenham Park Residents Association Incorporated Mr Carlo Meschino