

Parliament of South Australia

INTERIM REPORT

OF THE

SELECT COMMITTEE ON DAMAGE, HARM OR ADVERSE OUTCOMES RESULTING FROM ICAC INVESTIGATIONS

Laid on the Table of the Legislative Council on 22 September 2021 and ordered to be printed on 23 September 2021

INTERIM REPORT OF THE SELECT COMMITTEE ON DAMAGE, HARM AND ADVERSE OUTCOMES RESULTING FROM ICAC INVESTIGATIONS

TERMS OF REFERENCE AND BACKGROUND

On Wednesday, 2 December 2020 the Legislative Council resolved to establish a Select Committee to inquire into and report on -

- (a) Any damage, harm, or adverse outcomes to any party/s resulting from investigations undertaken pursuant to the ICAC Act (other than adverse findings resulting from the conduct of persons investigated);
- (b) Any damage, harm or adverse outcomes to any party/s resulting from prosecutions which follow investigations undertaken pursuant to the ICAC Act (other than adverse findings resulting from the conduct of persons prosecuted);
- (c) Options that may prevent or reduce the likelihood of, or any harm or damage resulting from, such outcomes and whether exoneration protocols need to be developed; and
- (d) Any other related matter, however, the Committee shall not receive submissions or evidence in relation to any current investigation, or current prosecution arising from such an investigation, or any matter that is currently the subject of referral by the ICAC for further investigation and potential prosecution

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

The Committee comprises six Members of the Legislative Council appointed by the Council.

Hon. F. Pangallo, MLC, Chairperson

Hon. N. J. Centofanti, MLC

Hon. T. A. Franks, MLC

Hon. H. M. Girolamo, MLC (from 24/08/2021)

Hon. J. E. Hanson, MLC

Hon. R. P. Wortley, MLC

Hon. D. W. Ridgway MLC (02/12/2020 - 30/06/2021)

Secretariat:

Ms Leslie Guy (Clerk Assistant) (from 18/08/2021) Mr Ben Cranwell (02/12/2020 - 18/08/2021)

Research Officer:

Dr Kylie Doyle

ACTIVITIES OF THE COMMITTEE

In December 2020, the Committee advertised its inquiry in *The Advertiser* and online via *InDaily* inviting stakeholders to make written submissions or register their interest in presenting oral evidence to the Committee. Details of the inquiry and the inquiry's terms of reference were also placed on the committee's website.

To date, the Committee has met on 14 occasions and commenced hearing evidence on 26 March 2021. Ten written submissions were received from individuals. Oral evidence was heard from 24 separate groups of witnesses.

A list of witnesses who appeared before the Committee and provided public evidence are listed in the Appendix A.

Transcripts and other relevant materials are available on the Committee's website.

KEY ISSUES RAISED

The Committee has heard from a broad range of witnesses including legal professionals, officers from South Australia Police, the Police Association of South Australia, former employees of the Office for the Independent Commissioner Against Corruption (ICAC), as well as a number of private citizens.

The key areas raised in evidence heard by the Committee include the following:

- the conduct of the Office of the Independent Commissioner Against Corruption;
- the conduct of South Australia Police:
- media coverage of ICAC investigations;
- the impact upon careers and professional advancement;
- reputational damage to individuals;
- the financial impact of proceedings on individuals and the difficulties associated in recovering legal costs; and
- the impact upon the mental health of those subject to proceedings.

The Committee continues to hear evidence and plans to table a final Report in November.

The Hon. F. Pangallo, MLC Chairperson September 2021

APPENDIX A - INDEX TO WITNESSES WHO GAVE PUBLIC EVIDENCE

Evidence was taken at Parliament House, North Terrace, Adelaide.

26 March 2021

Mr Michael Abbott, QC, Barrister

7 May 2021

Detective Sergeant Iain Mott, South Australia Police

14 May 2021

Detective Brevet Sergeant Katie Dalton, South Australia Police Superintendent Christine Baulderstone, South Australia Police Superintendent Selena Dinning, South Australia Police

28 May 2021

Sergeant Andrew Goldsmith, South Australia Police Senior Sergeant Stephen Hammond, South Australia Police

11 June 2021

Chief Superintendent John Venditto, South Australia Police Mr Gary Burns, former Commissioner of Police

25 June 2021

Hon. Joanna Fuller, Judge, District Court of South Australia Mr Ian Lawton Mr Michael Fuller

13 August 2021

Mr John Hanlon Ms Georgina Vasilevski

27 August 2021

Mr Grant Moyle, former Director of Operations, Independent Commissioner Against Corruption Ms Bronwyn Killmier, Commissioner for Victims' Rights Mr Jeff Powell, Barrister Mr Mark Carroll, President Police Association of South Australia

10 September 2021

Superintendent Christine Baulderstone, South Australia Police Superintendent Selena Dinning, South Australia Police