MOHAKA COUNTY.

[Local Bill.]

ANALYSIS.

Short Title

2. Mohaka County constituted.

3. Boundaries of Wa roa County altered.

4. Jurisdiction of Mohaka County Council. Schedules.

A BILL INTITULED

An Acr to constitute the Mohaka County.

Title.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as 5 follows:

1. This Act may be cited as the Mohaka County Act, 1911.

Short Title.

2. The Mohaka County is hereby constituted, comprising that Mohaka County portion of the Wairoa County described in the First Schedule constituted. hereto which at the date of the passing of this Act comprised part 10 of the Mohaka Riding of the said Wairoa County.

3. The boundaries of the Wairoa County are hereby altered, and Boundaries of are as described in the Second Schedule hereto.

Wairoa County altered. Jurisdiction of

Mohaka County

Council.

4. From and after the coming into operation of this Act no local authority other than the Mohaka County Council shall within 15 the limits of the said Mohaka County exercise any jurisdiction or authority over any roads or over or in relation to any matter or thing in respect of which jurisdiction or authority is conferred upon a County Council under any Act:

Provided that nothing herein shall effect the power of the 20 Governor to proclaim any portion of the said county a borough or

town district.

SCHEDULES.

Schedules.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

ALL that area of land bounded as follows: Commencing on the sea-coast at the point of intersection by the north-eastern boundary of the Hawke's Bay County, thence in a north-westerly direction along the boundary of that county to the southern boundary of the East Taupo County; thence in a north-easterly direction along the boundary of that county to the south-westernmost corner of the Whakatane County; thence in a south-easterly direction along a right line to the westernmost corner of the Maungataniwha Block; thence generally in a southerly direction along the Hoe River to its confluence with the Mohaka River; thence in a south-easterly direction by a right line across the Mohaka River to its right bank; thence generally in an easterly and southerly direction along the right bank of that river to its mouth; and thence in a south-westerly direction along the sea-coast to the commencing-point.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

ALL that area of land bounded as follows: Commencing at the mouth of the Mohaka River, thence generally in a northerly and westerly direction along the right bank of the said river to a point opposite its confluence with the Hoe River; thence by a right line in a north-easterly direction across the Mohaka River to the Hoe River; and thence generally in a northerly direction along that stream to the westernmost corner of the Maungataniwha Block; thence in a north-westerly direction along a right line to the south-westernmost corner of the Whakatane County; thence in a north-easterly direction along the southern boundary of the Whakatane County to the south-western boundary of the Cook County; thence generally in a south-easterly direction along the said boundary to the sea-coast; thence generally in a southerly and westerly direction along the sea-coast to the commencing-point: but excluding from the said area the Wairoa Borough, and including Portland Island.

By Authority: JOHN MACKAY, Government Printer, Wellington.—1911.