1956/178



THE HOSPITAL REPRESENTATION ORDER 1956

C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 23rd day of October 1956

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. S. G. HOLLAND PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Hospitals Act 1926, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. This order may be cited as the Hospital Representation Order 1956.
- 2. The Second Schedule to the Order in Council made on the 25th day of March 1935* making provision for the apportionment of representation of contributory districts on Hospital Boards, the Schedule to the Order in Council made on the 12th day of April 1938†, making similar provision, the Schedule to the Hospital Representation Order 1944‡, the Schedule to the Hospital Representation Order 1947§, the First Schedule to the Northland Hospital District Order 1950¶, and the Schedule to the Hospital Representation Order 1950¶ are hereby amended by revoking so much thereof as affects the representation upon the Boards of the hospital districts named in the first column of the Schedule hereto of the contributory districts named in the second column of the said Schedule.
- 3. The numbers of members to be elected to the Boards of the hospital districts named in the first column of the Schedule hereto as the representative or representatives of the contributory districts (including combined districts) named in the second column thereof shall be the numbers specified in the third column thereof.

*Gazette, 28 March 1935, Vol. I, p. 784 †Gazette, 13 April 1938, Vol. I, p. 936 ±S.R. 1944/58 \$S.R. 1947/161 | Gazette, 30 March 1950, Vol. I, p. 339 \$S.R. 1950/183

- 4. The contributory districts of which the names are set out in the second column of the Schedule hereto and therein bracketed together are hereby combined into combined districts.
- 5. The contributory local authorities whose districts are distinguished in the second column of the Schedule hereto by the letter "(P)" are hereby selected to be the principal contributory local authorities of the combined districts in which the districts of those contributory local authorities are included.
 - 6. The following provision is hereby made for particular cases:
 - (a) The date of the first election of an additional representative for the Dannevirke, Stratford, Oamaru, and Balclutha Boroughs shall be Saturday the 17th day of November 1956:
 - (b) The first election of representatives for each of the combined districts created by this order shall take place on Saturday the 17th day of November 1956, and until that election the representatives of the combined districts heretofore existing shall continue to hold office:
 - (c) The present representatives of Auckland City and of the Whangarei and Whakatane Counties, and of the former Weber and Whangamomona Counties, and of the combined district of Egmont County and Opunake Borough, and of the combined district of Waitaki County and Hampden Borough, shall continue to hold office until Saturday the 17th day of November 1956:
 - (d) The date of the first election of a representative for the Kawerau Borough shall be Saturday the 17th day of November 1956.

SCHEDULE

First Column Hospital District		Second Column Contributory District			Third Column Number of Representatives
		Whangarei County (P) Onerahi Town District	Combined	district	2
Auckland	••	Auckland City (P) Waiheke Road District	Combined	district	4
		Mount Roskill Borough (P. One Tree Hill Borough Mount Wellington Borough	Combined	district	1
		Otahuhu Borough Papakura Borough Manurewa Borough Howick Borough Manukau County (P) Papatoetoe Borough	Combined	district	1
		Waitemata County (P) Rodney County Great Barrier Island County Glen Eden Borough Warkworth Town District Henderson Borough East Coast Bays Borough Helensville Borough	Combined	district	2
		Takapuna Borough (P) Devonport Borough Northcote Borough Birkenhead Borough	Combined	district	1
Waikato		Otorohanga Gounty (P) Otorohanga Borough	Combined	district	1
Bay of Plenty	••	Whakatane County (P) Murupara Town District	} Combined	district	5
		Kawerau Borough			1
Dannevirke	• •	Dannevirke Borough	• • • • •	• •	3
Faranaki	• •	Egmont County	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •		2 4
Stratford		Stratford Borough			
Ashburton		Ashburton Borough	· · · ·		3
Waitaki	• •	Waitaki County (P) Hampden Borough	Combined	district	4
		Oamaru Borough			4
South Otago		Balclutha Borough			2
		Clutha County	· · · ·		4
Southland	••	Bluff Borough (P) Winton Borough Stewart Island County	Combined	district	1

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 25 October 1956. These regulations are administered in the Department of Health.